February 2018


Montserrat: Andrew Pearce is sworn in as governor.
Namibia: President Hage Geingob dismisses Home Affairs Minister Pendukeni Iivula-Ithana. In a reshuffle on February 8, Frans Kapofi is appointed home affairs minister.


Canada: Scott Moe is sworn in as premier of Saskatchewan.
Canada: Former premier of British Columbia (1972-75) David Barrett dies.
Cyprus: The prime minister-designate of North Cyprus, Tufan Erhürman, announces his cabinet (taking office the same day) with Kudret Özersay as foreign minister, Aysegül Baybars Kadri as interior minister, and Serdar Denktas continuing as finance minister. On February 15 the government wins a confidence vote in parliament (27-22).
Paraguay: President Horacio Cartes names Ariel Martínez as new interior minister.


Equatorial Guinea: President Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo dissolves the government of Prime Minister Francisco Pascual Obama Asue. On February 5 Obiang reappoints the prime minister as well as Interior Minister Clemente Engonga Nguema Onguene. On February 6 he names the full government (sworn in February 7), including Simeón Oyono Esono Angue as foreign minister, Alejandro Bacale Ncogo as defense minister, and Lucas Abaga Nchama as finance minister.


Costa Rica: In presidential elections, Fabricio Alvarado (National Restoration Party) wins about 25% of the vote, Carlos Alvarado (Citizens' Action Party) about 22%, Antonio Álvarez (National Liberation Party) about 19%, Rodolfo Piza (Social Christian Unity Party) about 16%, and Juan Diego Castro (National Integration Party) about 10%. Turnout is about 66%. A runoff will take place April 1.
Cyprus: In the presidential runoff, incumbent Nikos Anastasiadis (Democratic Rally) wins 56.0% of the vote and Stavros Malas (Progressive Party of Working People) 44.0%. Turnout is 74.0%. On February 13 Anastasiadis names a new government (to be sworn in March 1) including Nikos Christodoulidis as foreign minister and Savvas Angelidis as defense minister.
Western Sahara: President Ibrahim Ghali names Mohamed Wali Akeik as new prime minister.


Russia: The prime minister of Dagestan, Abdusamad Gamidov, is dismissed; Anatoly Karibov is appointed acting prime minister. On February 7 Artyom Zdunov is elected as new prime minister.
Sint Eustatius: The Dutch government announces its decision to impose direct rule. On February 6, the Dutch parliament adopts legislation to that effect, dissolving island institutions and removing from office the acting administrator, Julian Woodley. On February 7, Mike Franco is appointed as government commissioner.


Bangladesh: President Abdul Hamid is elected (unopposed) for a second term.


Monaco: In parliamentary elections, Priority Monaco wins 57.7% of the vote (21 of 24 seats), Horizon Monaco 26.1% (2), and the Monegasque Union 16.2% (1). Turnout is 70.4%.


Finland: Kai Mykkänen is appointed interior minister.


Brazil: Former governor of Mato Grosso do Sul (1983-86, 1995-99) Wilson Barbosa Martins dies.
The Netherlands: Foreign Minister Halbe Zijlstra resigns. Sigrid Kaag becomes acting foreign minister. Parliament rejects (101-43) a no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Mark Rutte.


Kenya: Parliament approves the new cabinet members, including Monica Juma as foreign minister. They are sworn in on February 16.
The Netherlands: Former prime minister (1982-94) Ruud Lubbers dies.
Russia: Former head of the administration of Yamalo-Nenets autonomous okrug (1991-94) Lev Bayandin dies.
South Africa: President Jacob Zuma resigns. Cyril Ramaphosa becomes acting president; on February 15 he is elected (unopposed) and sworn in as president.
Sweden: Former governor of Gotland (1984-91) Claes Elmstedt dies.
Zambia: In a cabinet reshuffle, Margaret Mwanakatwe is appointed finance minister.
Zimbabwe: Former prime minister (2009-13) Morgan Tsvangirai dies.


Ethiopia: Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn resigns.
Libya: In a cabinet reshuffle, Abdussalam Ashour is named to replace al-Aref al-Khoja as interior minister.
Nepal: Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba resigns. President Bidhya Devi Bhandari appoints K.P. Sharma Oli as prime minister. He is sworn in at the head of a three-member cabinet the same day.


Congo (Kinshasa): Henry Mova Sakanyi is appointed as interior minister.
Russia: Former acting prime minister of North Ossetia-Alania (2000-02) Kazbek Karginov dies.


Taiwan: In a cabinet reshuffle, Joseph Wu is named foreign minister and Yen Teh-fa defense minister; they are to be sworn in on February 26.